Independent Historian

Lekeisha Harding is a student at the University of Washington in Seattle, Washington. She is working towards a double major in Sociology and Comparative History of Ideas (CHID).  During her undergraduate experience she has been involved in various student organizations including UW Leaders, Black Student Union (BSU), Sisterhood, and Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. She is currently the Assistant Director at Bitter Lake Community center’s 2nd-5th grade program. She intends on continuing her Graduate education on the east coast while working within the non-profit sector to support projects focused on to resource allocation for schools and community organizations as well as youth development in the inner city.

Iota Phi Theta Fraternity (1963)

Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc. (Iota), the most recently formed black Greek-letter organization, was founded on September 19, 1963 on the campus of Morgan State University in Baltimore, Maryland. Established by twelve men who were active in the local civil rights movement, early Iota members … Read MoreIota Phi Theta Fraternity (1963)

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity (1911- )

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Incorporated, one of the five fraternities for African American men, was founded on November 17, 1911 on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C. It is the first African American fraternity established at a historically black college. The three founders—Edgar … Read MoreOmega Psi Phi Fraternity (1911- )

Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity (1911- )

Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc. (Kappa), a predominantly African American Greek-letter fraternity, was founded on January 5, 1911 on the campus of Indiana University. It is the first black Greek-letter organization founded west of the Appalachian Mountains. The fraternity, originally called Kappa Alpha Nu, was … Read MoreKappa Alpha Psi Fraternity (1911- )

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority (1922- )

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. (SGRho), one of the four college sororities for African American women, was founded by seven public school teachers at Butler University in Indianapolis, Indiana on November 12, 1922. SGRho is thus the only Greek-letter organization founded by university graduates rather … Read MoreSigma Gamma Rho Sorority (1922- )

Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity (1914- )

Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. (Sigma) was founded on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C., on January 14, 1914, by three college students,  A. Langston Taylor, Lenard F. Morse, and Charles I. Brown on the principles of Brotherhood, Scholarship, and Service. The founders … Read MorePhi Beta Sigma Fraternity (1914- )

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority (1913- )

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. (Delta), one of four college sororities for African American women, was founded on January 13, 1913, on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C. by 22 collegiate women. Delta is a nonprofit organization whose principles are Sisterhood, Leadership, and … Read MoreDelta Sigma Theta Sorority (1913- )

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority (1908- )

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. (AKA), the oldest Greek-letter organization established for African American women, was founded on January 15, 1908, on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C. The principles are Sisterhood, Scholarship, and Service to All Humankind. This organization was founded on … Read MoreAlpha Kappa Alpha Sorority (1908- )

National Pan-Hellenic Council (1930 – )

Image Ownership: Public Domain The National Pan-Hellenic Council, Inc. (NPHC), also referred to as the Divine Nine, is the umbrella organization housing nine black Greek-letter organizations. The NPHC was founded at Howard University in Washington, D.C. on May 10, 1930, and incorporated under laws in … Read MoreNational Pan-Hellenic Council (1930 – )