Independent Historian

Jiwon Amy Yoo earned her Bachelor’s degree in History at the University of Washington in 2009 and her Master’s in Education from Teachers College Columbia University in 2011. She has been teaching middle school since 2012.


Moïse Kapenda Tshombe (1919–1969)

Moïse Kapenda Tshombe was the president of Katanga, once a secessionist state of Congo immediately after the country’s independence in 1960. Tshombe was born in 1919 in the southern region of Katanga. His father was said to be the first Congolese millionaire, amassing a fortune … Read MoreMoïse Kapenda Tshombe (1919–1969)

Joseph-Désiré/ Mobutu, Sese Seko Kuku Waza Banga Mobutu (1930-1997)

Joseph Mobutu, named Joseph-Désiré Mobutu at birth, was the second president of Zaire (now called the Democratic Republic of Congo) from 1965 to 1997.  Mobutu was born in 1930 in the Belgian Congo and studied journalism. In 1958, Mobutu became the country’s state secretary and … Read MoreJoseph-Désiré/ Mobutu, Sese Seko Kuku Waza Banga Mobutu (1930-1997)