Morehouse School of Medicine (1975- )

Morehouse School of Medicine (MSM), one of two historically black medical schools created in the twentieth century, was established in 1975 in Atlanta, Georgia.  Former US Surgeon General David Satcher served as the institution’s first president.  The school was meant to be a two-year medical … Read MoreMorehouse School of Medicine (1975- )

University of the Virgin Islands (1962- )

The University of the Virgin Islands  (UVI) is a public university located on the islands of St. Thomas and St. Croix, the United States Virgin Islands. It was established in 1962  In 1986 it officially became one of the 117 U.S. Historically Black Colleges and … Read MoreUniversity of the Virgin Islands (1962- )

University of the West Indies (1948- )

The University of the West Indies (UWI) is a public regional university unique in the world of higher education.  The university is supported by and operating for the benefit of the people of 17 nations and territories in and around the Caribbean. These nations include … Read MoreUniversity of the West Indies (1948- )

Ahmadu Bello University (1962- )

Founded on October 4, 1962, Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) is a public university located in Zaria, Kaduna State in northern Nigeria. With over 35,000 students, it is the largest university in sub-Saharan Africa and the second largest on the African continent after the University of … Read MoreAhmadu Bello University (1962- )

University of Nigeria (1960- )

Image Ownership: Public Domain The University of Nigeria is a federally-controlled public university located in southeastern Nigeria. The university has three campuses: Nsukka (the main campus), Enugu, and Ituku-Ozalla. It was the first university opened by newly independent Nigeria.  Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe, the first president … Read MoreUniversity of Nigeria (1960- )

Arkansas Baptist College, Little Rock, Arkansas (1884- )

Arkansas Baptist College (ABC) is a private four-year institution in Little Rock, Arkansas.  The college was founded as the “Minister’s Institute” in August 1884 at the Annual Convention of the Colored Baptists of the State of Arkansas.  It opened three months later at the Mount … Read MoreArkansas Baptist College, Little Rock, Arkansas (1884- )

Interdenominational Theological Center (1958- )

The Interdenominational Theological Center  (ITC) is a Christian, ecumenical, graduate professional school of theology located on the Atlanta University campus in Atlanta, Georgia.  The ITC began in 1958 when four schools of theology united to form the Center: Morehouse School of Religion, Gammon Theological Seminary, … Read MoreInterdenominational Theological Center (1958- )

Kentucky State University (1886- )

Kentucky State University, the largest predominantly black institution of higher learning in the state, began as a state normal (teacher training) school.  On October 15, 1885, Kentucky’s political leaders held a conference in Louisville to discuss the ways to improve the welfare of the Commonwealth … Read MoreKentucky State University (1886- )

Winston-Salem State University (1892- )

Winston-Salem State University (WSSU), the first African American institution in the country to grant elementary teacher education degrees, began as a State Normal School in 1892.  The institution developed due to the work of Dr. Simon Green Atkins, who in 1881, helped organize the North … Read MoreWinston-Salem State University (1892- )