Four Communes of Senegal (1887-1960)

Originaire in St. Louis, Senegal, ca. 1860 Image Ownership: Public Domain The Four Communes of Senegal in French West Africa, Gorée, Dakar, Rufisque, and Saint-Louis, were the only places during the African Colonial period, where African inhabitants were granted the same rights as French Citizens. … Read MoreFour Communes of Senegal (1887-1960)

Little Liberia, Baja California, 1919

Map Showing Little Liberia “Image Courtesy of Quintard Taylor” Initiated in the early 20th century by Los Angeles attorney Hugh Macbeth and the Lower California Mexican Land and Development Company, the Baja California settlement known as “Little Liberia” was envisioned as a racially-exclusive community through … Read MoreLittle Liberia, Baja California, 1919